Broadcasting & Cable Hall of Fame Taps Hoda Kotb and Regis Philbin To Co-Host Part One of 25th Anniversary Gala

NEW YORK, NY (July 27, 2015) – Hoda Kotb and Regis Philbin, two of television’s most celebrated and popular personalities, have been named to co-host part one of the Broadcasting & Cable Hall of Fame, the premiere industry event honoring the pioneers, innovators and stars of the electronic arts. The Broadcasting & Cable Hall of Fame is set for Tuesday, October 20 at the famed Waldorf-Astoria in New York City. The host for the second half of the 2015 event will be announced shortly.

Hoda Kotb is Co-Host, Fourth Hour of NBC’s TODAY alongside 2015 Hall of Fame honoree Kathie Lee Gifford. In addition to TODAY, Kotb serves as correspondent for Dateline, and she covers news, human interest stories and features across all NBC News platforms. Kotb is a New York Times bestselling author with two books: Hoda: How I Survived War Zones, Bad Hair, Cancer and Kathie Lee and Ten Years Later: Six People Who Faced Adversity and Transformed Their Lives. Her third book, Where They Belong is out in January. A three-time Emmy winner, Kotb has also received a Peabody, an Edward R. Murrow Award, and three Gracies.

Regis Philbin, a prior Broadcasting & Cable Hall of Fame Honoree, first stepped in front of the camera more than 50 years ago and since then has tackled talk shows, game shows and the literary world, winning a slew of notable awards along the way. In 1999, Philbin took his daytime success to nighttime with ABC’s ratings juggernaut Who Wants To Be a Millionaire.In 2008, he was recognized with a Lifetime Achievement Award from the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences. Since leaving Live with Regis and Kelly in 2011, Regis has continued to be a much sought after on-air presence. NBC recently announced that Philbin is joining TODAY as a special contributor– reuniting him with his former co-host Kathie Lee Gifford.

The complete list of 2015 Hall of Fame inductees includes:

  • Ed Carroll – COO, AMC Networks, Inc.
  • Michael T. Fries – President and CEO, Liberty Global
  • Don Garber – Commissioner, Major League Soccer; CEO, Soccer United Marketing
  • Chris Geraci – President of National Broadcast, OMD
  • Kathie Lee Gifford – Co-Host, Fourth Hour of NBC’s TODAY
  • Robert A. Iger – Chairman and CEO, The Walt Disney Company
  • Lou LaTorre – President Advertising Sales, Fox Cable Networks (Retired)
  • Alfred C. Liggins III – Chairman and CEO, TV One
  • Philip J. Lombardo – CEO, Citadel Communications Company, L.P.
  • Dave Lougee – President, TEGNA Media
  • Dr. Phil McGraw – Host and Executive Producer, “Dr. Phil”
  • Donna Speciale – President, Turner Broadcasting Ad Sales

A portion of the net proceeds is donated to the charitable organization Broadcasters Foundation of America. A safety net for radio and television professionals across the country, the Broadcasters Foundation of America provides anonymous financial grants to those industry colleagues who are in acute need due to critical illness, advanced age, death of a spouse, an accident or other serious misfortune.

The Broadcasting & Cable Hall of Fame is one of the signature events taking place during NewBay Media’s 3rd Annual New York City Television Week, October 20-22.  Other events include Advanced Advertising, The Content Show, Next TV Summit & Expo and the Thirteenth Annual Hispanic Television Summit.

For sponsorship information, please contact Sandy Friedman at
or 917-612-0735.

For registration, please contact Rebecca Shottland at
or 917-281-4782.

To view the 2015 class, visit

# # # 

Press contact:
Sayles & Winnikoff Communications:

Alan Winnikoff
(212) 725-5200 x111

Carina Sayles
(212) 725-5200 x210