AV Technology Wins Neal Award for Best Media Brand

NEW YORK, NY (April 10, 2018) — Data-driven solutions provider NewBay has announced that AV Technology, the leading brand for AV and IT tech managers, is the recipient of a 2018 Jesse H. Neal Award for Best Media Brand. The Neal Awards, produced by the Software & Information Industry Association (SIIA), honor editorial content excellence and are considered business journalism’s most important accolades.

According to SIIA, the winner of the Best Media Brand category shows “outstanding ability to work across the range of media now required by a brand, while maintaining high levels of editorial craftsmanship, journalistic enterprise, and innovation.”

“I am proud of the AV Technology team and am delighted that SIIA has honored their expertise with this award,” states Joe Territo, Chief Content Officer, NewBay. “This award-wining brand provides a great example of the exceptional content produced by NewBay every day, and our dedication to provide quality insights and solutions to the industries we serve.”

In addition to the Best Media Brand nod, AV Technology editor-at-large (and former content director) Margot Douaihy was presented with the 2018 Marianne Dekker Mattera Mentor Award. In her acceptance speech, Douaihy said, “In this era of dizzying political strife, when journalists are under assault and the finest publications on record are being besmirched, editorial forums — from daily newspapers to business journals — can provide context, lenses through which to understand the moment, and resources to invest in ourselves and reconnect with one another…I am fortunate to utilize my platform to ‘lift as I climb.’ I challenge you all to do the same. Whatever your publication, whatever your beat, strive to make the world better through it.

AV Technology and the other recipients of 2018 Jesse H. Neal Awards were announced at a ceremony held in New York City on Thursday, April 5.

The Jesse H. Neal Awards are the most prestigious editorial honors in the field of business-to-business journalism. Named after Jesse H. Neal, the first managing director of ABM (now SIIA), the Neal Awards were established in 1955 to recognize and reward editorial excellence in business media. Past Neal winners and finalists have tackled some of the major issues of their time. In doing so, they have exposed corruption, conflicts of interest, and other malfeasance, and brought attention to major new trends, brilliant leadership, innovative tactics, and other developments in businesses and industries.

NewBay is an information and events business based in New York and London. It has a substantial B2B portfolio operating in verticals including Electronics and Education, and TV and Audio, where it publishes Broadcast & Cable, the leading voice of authority in the television industry. Its business is mainly in the provision of conferences, magazines, events, digital content and data services. To learn more, go to www.newbaymedia.com.

NewBay is part of Future PLC, an international media group and leading digital publisher, listed on the London Stock Exchange (symbol: FUTR). The Group operates two separately managed brand-led divisions: Media and Magazine. The Group has a reach of 100m+ globally, including 62m online users and 63m social media reach. To learn more, go to www.futureplc.com.